Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Ujala-Asianet 2011 film Awards distributed in Cochin

The 13th Ujala-Asianet Film Awards 2011 were distributed in a glittering function held recently at the Port Trust Stadium, Willington Island, Cochin. The event was witnessed by 25,000 strong crowd. Several prominent persons from the film industry and socio-cultural spheres were present on the occasion.

Mohan Lal presented the life time achievement award to the epic hero of Indian Cinema, Amitab Bachchan. Asianet MD, K Madhavan and mega star  Mammootty also honoured Big B for his outstanding contributions to Indian Film Industry.
The event was attended by a cross section of stars from South Indian film industry and have colourful programmes performed by leading Malayalam artistes along with a mix of stars from Kollywood and bollywood. Jayaram, Ilaya Thalapadhi Vijay, Karthi, Sneha, Sheela Devi, Rehman, Jagathy Sreekumar, Manoj K Jayan, Lakshmi Gopalaswami, Babu Antony, Menaka, Ranjini, Ambika, KPAC Lalitha, Sukumari, Annop Menon, Siddique, Narain, Maniyanpillai Raju, Rekha, Soniya Aggarwal, Dhanya Mari, Amala Paul, Mithra, Sarayu, Shafna, Ranjith Menon, Munna, Fazal Gaffur, Sabu Cheriyan and B Unnikrishnan  are some of the personalities who were present at the function.
Pranjiyettan and The Saint won the award for the best film, which was accepted by its producer and Director Ranjith. Lal received the award for the best director for the movie In Ghost House Inn. Mohan Lal was honoured  as the Asianet Golden Star Award for his outstanding performance in various movies. Mammootty bagged the best actor award for his role in Pranjiyettan and The Saint and Kuttisranku. Nayanthara was presented the best female actress award for the her female lead in Body Gaurd. Dilip and Mamtha Mohandas was on hand to collect the popular awards for her outstanding performance in various movies.
Lakshmi Rai, Meghna Raj, Meera Nandan, Remya Nambeesan, Anuya Bhagavath, Teja Sree, Reema Kallingal and other comedy artistes from TV/ Film industry, playback Singers Hariharan, Shreya Ghoshal, KS Chithra, MG Sreekumar, Suvi Suresh, G Venugopal entertained the audience with dance and songs. Other attractions of the event was Attakalari, Salsa Dance and Classical dance performance.

No comments: